« | Home | »

Reality TV Hosts Now Eligible for Emmy

June 16, 2008 07:00 PM by Amanda Christensen

If Katherine Heigl doesn’t want an Emmy Award, not to worry, there is a whole-nother category of people ready to take ‘em home! Academy of TelevisionArts & Sciences has created a category for reality TV hosts to get recognition for their hard work: “outstanding host for a reality or reality-competition program”.

The first such award will be handed out in September, during the 60th Emmy Awards. Hosts such as Ryan Seacrest, Tyra Banks and Howie Mandell are eligible now that the Academy recognizes that reality TV has become “an integral part of television and our culture,” John Shaffner, chairman and CEO of the TV academy, said in a statement Tuesday announcing the new honor.

This category is open to the hosts of reality programs, but not the judges or participants. Looks like Simon Cowell will have to find another way to get rewarded for his helpful comments and caring ways!

For more Reality TV news visit Sir Links A Lot: Reality Television. Also, come join us on the new Reality TV Magazine message boards and talk about your favorite show!

Photo Credit: tvdramas

Topics: Reality TV, Reality TV Awards |

« | Home | »

recommended for you

No Comments »


SheKnows Entertainment